Marine Corps League Department of North Carolina



Winter Quarterly Meeting Minutes 7 January 2017

Hosted by: Pfc Terry C. Smith detachment #1193

Host Commandant: Robert Padgett

Salisbury, NC

Presided by: Commandant Charles Minton
Department of North Carolina
Marine Corps League

Meeting start time: 0930

Meeting Location: Salisbury VAMC Bldg. 6

<u>Host Contact</u>: Tom Richardson <u>E-mail</u>: stamps@northstate.net <u>Phone Number</u>: 336-803-1029

Morning Business Session

Opening Remarks by Department Commandant Charles Minton

- A thank you to all who braved the inclement weather to attend
- Update on the Commandant's wife's condition and expression of thanks.
- Meeting called to order
- Posting of Colors was facilitated at the time of room setup.
- Pledge of Allegiance initiated by acting Sergeant at Arms Devell "Bull" Durham
- Open Bible and Invocation by acting Chaplain Jody Haslip
- The Meeting was dedicated to all Marines, FMF Corpsmen, FMF Chaplains, and Associates that have received PCS Orders to stand guard at the entrance to the Supreme Commandants residence

Welcoming remarks by Department Commandant Charles Minton

- Thanks, and remarks to Host Detachment: Pfc Terry C Smith Detachment #1193 and Commandant Robert Padgett.
- Asked Detachment Representative Tom Richardson to address the membership.
 - Tom addressed the membership, thanking them for their efforts to get here and apologized for being unable to provide the meals as was planned initially.

Guest Speakers

 VA Representatives scheduled to speak were unable to attend because of inclement weather.

Recognition of National Officer's & National Marines of the Year

- National Marine of the Year 2006 & Navy Cross recipient Joe Blick did not attend.
- National Marine of the Year 2001 & 50th Chief Devil Dog George Barrows, Sr. did not attend.
- Mideast Division Assistant Vice Commandant Bruce Rakfeldt was present
- National Assistant & Mideast Division Sgt-at-Arms Jeffrey Jones was present
- National & MED Boy Scouts Committee & MED Sgt at Arms Charles Minton was present
- National Youth Physical Fitness Chairman Devell (Bull) Durham was present

Recognition of the Department Marine/Woman of the Year

- 2016 Department Marine of the Year Rick Thomason was present
- 2016 Department Woman of the Year None
- All past MOY & WOY Recipients present were asked to stand and be recognized

Past Department Commandants were recognized

- Jr. Past Department Commandant Bruce Rakfeldt
- The remaining Past Department Commandants were asked to stand and be recognized.

Recognition of Guests and Invitation to address the membership

 MODD NC Pack Worthy Pack Leader PDD Bruce Rakfeldt spoke briefly to detail the Grand Growl coming at the DoNC Grand Growl.

Roll Call of the Department Officers by the Adjutant

- Commandant Charles Minton
- Sr. Vice Commandant Jeffrey Jones
- Jr. Vice Commandant Howard Boyd
- Judge Advocate Scott Shermeyer
- Jr. Past Commandant Bruce Rakfeldt
- Chief of Staff John Staley*
- Aide-De-Camp- John Dilday*
- Chaplain Bill Boyd *
- Assistant Chaplin- VACANT
- Sgt.-at-Arms & Young Marines Service Officer Ralph Farthing*
- Paymaster James Cox *
- Assistant Young Marines Service Officer Jeff Petway*
- Toys For Tots Coordinator & Eagle Scout Coordinator Larry Hill*
- VAVS Service Officer Ken Parker
- Legislative Officer Vacant
- Bylaws Committee Chairman Lisa Ciesielski *
- Assistant Eagle Scout Coordinator- Devell Durham
- Adjutant Rick Thomason
- Web Sergeant- Robbie Savage*
- Assistant Adjutant Scott Shermeyer
- Historian Greg Ciesielski *

District Vice Commandants by the Adjutant

NC West DVC's

- 1. West District Larry Thorton*
- 2. Northwest District Chuck Wright
- 3. Midwest District Glenn Perkins
- 4. Northcentral District Chuck Stotz*
- 5. Southcentral Denny Mathias*

^{*}Indicates the Officer was not present at time of roll call

NC East DVC's

- 6. North District John Staley*
- 7. Northeast District Mike Black
- 8. South District Richard Rust*
- 9. Southeast District Owen Smith*
- 10. East District Steve Tracy*

*Indicates the DVC was not present at time of roll call

Roll Call of Detachments (By the Adjutant – "The senior member of each Detachment shall rise, salute the Commandant, state their Detachment position and the number of members present to ensure a quorum is met.")

- 1. John V. Berg Detachment #257 (Kinston)*
- 2. Greater Greensboro Detachment #260 (Greensboro)*
- 3. Onslow County Detachment #262 (Jacksonville)*
- 4. Tar Heel Detachment #733 (Raleigh)
- 5. Charlotte Detachment #750 (Charlotte)
- 6. Blue Ridge Detachment #848 (Asheville)*
- 7. Eno River Detachment #872 (Durham)*
- 8. PFC Charles D. Hare Detachment #914 (Monroe)*
- 9. Smoky Mountain Detachment #973 (Franklin)*
- 10. Shawn Knisley Detachment #983 (Fayetteville)*
- 11. Sand Hills Area Detachment #1001 (Aberdeen)*
- 12. Paul Ray Purgason Detachment #1005 (Shallotte)
- 13. Cherokee County Detachment #1011 (Murphy)*
- 14. Stanly County Detachment #1021 (Albemarle)*
- 15. Carolina Boarders Detachment #1036 #1036 (Calabash)*
- 16. Cherry Point Detachment #1067 (Havelock)
- 17. Cape Fear Detachment #1070 (Wilmington)*
- 18. Percy John Fulton Detachment #1075 (Winston-Salem) *
- 19. Gen. A Hal Turnage Detachment #1096 (Salisbury)
- 20. Iredell County Detachment #1097 (Troutman)*
- 21. Davidson County Detachment #1103 (Lexington)*
- 22. Gen. Raymond G. Davis Detachment #1162 (Gastonia)
- 23. Catawba Valley Detachment #1163 (Hickory)*
- 24. NC Foothills Detachment #1164 (Shelby)*
- 25. Cpl. Johnny A. Williamson Detachment #1165 (Asheboro)*
- 26. Cabarrus Detachment #1175 (Concord)*
- 27. Down East Detachment #1186 (Greenville)*
- 28. Brushy Mountain Detachment #1187 (North Wilkesboro)*
- 29. PFC. Terry C. Smith Detachment #1193 (High Point)
- 30. Tablerock Detachment #1197 (Morganton)*
- 31. John E. Ferguson Detachment #1208 (Lenoir)*

- 32. LCpl. Alan D. Lam Detachment #1209 (Burlington)
- 33. Cpl. Chris S. Ebert Detachment #1221 (Spindale)*
- 34. Sgt. Doug Myers Detachment #1222 (Sylvia)*
- 35. Sanford Detachment #1223 (Sanford)*
- 36. PFC. Jerry L. McKinney Detachment #1232 (Wentworth)*
- 37. Carry-On Detachment #1236 (Clayton)
- 38. PFC. Bruce Larson Detachment #1242 (Huntersville)*
- 39. Richmond Leathernecks Detachment #1252 (Rockingham)*
- 40. Air, Land, NC Detachment #1257 (Wake Forest) *
- 41. Albemarle Detachment #1258 (Edenton)*
- 42. Cpl. Suzi Sannes Detachment #1262 (Rocky Mount)
- 43. Outer Banks Detachment #1264 (Kitty Hawk) *
- 44. Capt. Jeb F. Seagle Detachment #1265 (Lincolnton)*
- 45. Mt. Mitchell Detachment #1266 (Spruce Pines) *
- 46. Gold Leaf Detachment #1276 (Wilson)
- 47. Orange County Regulators Detachment #1292 (Hillsboro)*
- 48. Walter Frank Osborne Jr. Detachment #1298 (Sparta)*
- 49. Northwest Triad Detachment #1314 (Stokesdale)*
- 50. Mountaineer Detachment #1320 (Watauga)
- 51. Hampstead Detachment #1321 (Pender)*
- 52. Surry County Detachment #1322 (Surry)
- 53. Crossed Rifles Detachment #1346 (Harnett)*
- 54. Waynesborough Detachment #1350 (Wayne)*
- 55. High Country Detachment #1389 (Ashe)*
- 56. Swansboro Detachment #1407 (Swansboro)*
- 57. Oriental Dragon Detachment #1413 (Oriental)*
- 58. Asheville Detachment #1417 (Asheville)*

*Indicates the Detachment was not represented at time of roll call

A QUORUM WAS NOT MET AS REQUIRED BY THE DoNC BYLAWS – 13 Detachments present = 22.8% 40% required

Any action past this point was informational only and was <u>not</u> documented as a matter of record for the Department.

Rick Thomason Adjutant Department of North Carolina